Let’s talk Doulas

We love doulas! And just like with birth classes, we feel that finding the doula that’s right for you is key to having the labor/delivery you’re hoping for, so we were really excited when one of our readers suggested we do a post about area doulas. But we need your help!

Did you have a doula at your labor? Tell us about your experience! How did you find the doula who was right for you (or did you end up with a doula who wasn’t what you had expected)? We’d love to hear what your partner thought about having a doula as well.

Doulas, we want to hear from you too! Tell us about yourselves – why you became a doula, how people can get in touch with you, etc.

Please e-mail your info to: raisingmadison[at]hotmail[dot]com

3 thoughts on “Let’s talk Doulas

  1. My name is Emily Shier and I had the support of doulas for each of my three births. I am also a doula myself, and very aware of the importance of having just the right kind of “fit” between a family and a doula. Each of my births were very different and each required different support. I hired a Madison doula for my last birth, in August. Her name is Gretchen Struve and she is also a certified massage therapist. Although we have teamed up to “doula” families professionally for a long time, I was the mama and she was the doula last August. I’ll share just a few of the highlights that still remain in my mind- ways that she helped my family have a rejoiceful birth that we will carry in our hearts forever : Gretchen was supportive and flexible with me in late pregnancy, rushing to me when I had a “false start” without an ouce of disappointment or judgment. She gracefully eased her way into my home, being present and helpful but allowing my husband and I the space we needed without feeling like we had to take care of a guest. She is energetic and gave loving attention to my 3 and 5 year old boys and a much-needed bike/run with my 1 year-old chocolate lab (something I was very much struggling with in the final days of pregnancy). And for my labor and birth, she ensured every detail that I wished for was covered without my even having consider it. She never questioned a request, my health care provider (a certified nurse midwife) found her to be helpful and wonderful, and there’s nothing I would change about my third son’s birthday. She was MY perfect doula for my most healing and awesome birth.
    Sincerely, Emily

  2. I had a doula at my labor and delivery and we couldn’t have done it without her. I had a long labor, and she was there at each step to help me relax and my husband, too. She helped me make decisions when I was tired, and post partum connected me to a fantastic lactation consultant. I will always use a doula in the future!

    FYI – I worked with Hannah Bernard-Donals of All Four Trimesters and my lactation consultant was Adria Cannon, who works with Happy Bambino.

  3. I just had my daughter in mid-June with the help of a doula. We found her using http://www.wisconsindoulas.net/ I wanted a natural birth and felt a doula would help with everything that involved. She was a wealth of knowledge and answered many questions since this was my first child. I labored at home far longer than I would have without her help, and I’m really glad I did. There was no reason to sit at the hospital and have contractions when I could be more comfortable at home, and she helped us choose how long to stay at home and when to leave for the hospital. My husband found her invaluable, working ‘behind the scenes’ as he says. She helped him with many details which really helped him support me. Overall, it was a wonderful experience. I used Emily S. with Beautiful Birth Doula Services.

Leave a Reply

