Madison Loves Etsy

Tiffany here – just one of what I’m sure will be many posts about the best place to find one-of-a-kind, lovely, handmade things for our kiddos (and ourselves!) Etsy.com!

I love finding something better and cuter than I thought I was looking for, and I especially love that it offers so many mamas a way to be home with their kids while making some money and being creative and crafty and providing cute things for me! And it gets EVEN BETTER when I find an etsy shop I love that is local!

So here are a few of my favorite local etsy shops:

Zephyr Woods


I bought one of her necklaces for my sister-in-law and had such a hard time giving it away! I’m planning to order one for my 8 month old to admire while nursing. So gorgeous and modern and unique.


Space Oddities


Lots of super fun pins and clothes for mama, dad and baby. Dont miss their “Rad Dad” pin just in time for fathers day!
“About us: We are a husband/wife team and we work on a lot of our items together. We have 2 little ones, ages 5.5 and 3.5. Our pins can be found locally in Madison at Anthology, downtown, 218 State Street. We also vend down at the farmers’ market (downtown by the capitol) every Saturday, weather permitting. Just another spot you can find our wares locally. :)”
(Psst: Read on for a giveaway from Space Oddities!)


Found Alchemy


If i had the sewing know-how, I would order all the kids patterns available at Found Alchemy, alas, I have almost no sewing skills….so I have to shop for ready-made things from talented mamas on etsy!


Jenny Blasen Pottery


I love the idea of this mug for a little baby’s first fathers day, when baby can’t really “make” anything much for dad yet.

A little about Jenny:
“I am a mom to two wonderful kids–a 6 year old boy and a 9 year old girl. I also sell my pottery at the Northside Farmer’s Market every other Sunday. My daughter makes bottlecap magnets and sells them with me! You can also buy my pottery at the Bohemian Bauble on Lakeside Street which is a fun little street with stores and a coffee shop. Not many people know about that neighborhood–there is a small beach park right behind our store.”


Auntie Jill


Lovely loving Auntie who was inspired by her nieces and nephews to create sweet little snuggle bunnies and other snuggly animals for kids to adore. Through years of working in childcare she’s learned exactly what makes a toy a favorite, and how important it is for that favorite to be washable!
Psst: Read on for a giveaway from Auntie Jill!


Annabel’s Aprons


Who doesn’t love a fancy apron? (She’ll make cute matching paired aprons for all types of pairs!)


Underduck


My favorite local etsy mama Kat (also the founder and one of the authors of this blog). Mama to 17-month-old Milena, she makes amazingly well crafted and beautiful celebratory banners. We received one for our daughter Lily for her birthday and one for Charlie (that’s my charlie in the picture.. awww.. baby charlie!) as a new baby gift and we love them so much!

And of course by now you must be thinking, WOW! look at all these amazing cute things! I need some of these amazing cute things! Well you do, so we convinced some of these nice etsy shops to help us do a GIVEAWAY!

You can enter two ways. 1. Comment here telling us about your favorite local store to buy homemade or your favorite item in one of the stores above. 2. Join our facebook group (current fans will automatically be entered).

You have until the end of Thursday, June 17 to enter. We’ll announce the winners Friday, June 18th!

You could win one of the following three super fantastic items!

1. Space Oddities gift tote with a onesie and Rad Dad and Mom’s The Bomb pins

2. Auntie Jill Snuggle Bunny

3. Underduck Happy Birthday Celebratory Banner

And if you love Etsy as much as we do, you should check out Madison’s Etsy Craft Party on Etsy’s birthday, this Friday June 18th at 4:30pm at the Goodman Community Center!

17 thoughts on “Madison Loves Etsy

  1. Thank you for the store suggestions! I’ll have to check them out. My favorite local stores for homemade art and jewelry are Macha tea house on Monroe St, The Purple Goose in Verona and downtown and the craft shop next to Happy Bambino.

  2. I love Found Alchemy’s sense of reusing found objects. The patterns are great, and so are their fun decorative items.

    And Space Oddities, well, that’s just plain fun! Love it.

  3. My favorite place to buy locally crafted goodies (especially baby gifts!) is Anthology on State Street. Hooray for locally owned/women owned businesses! Tuvalu Coffee Shop in Verona also has great locally made art, gifts, and jewelry.

  4. WOW — I have had Auntie Jill stuff in my Etsy favorites forever and never noticed they’re local!! And the ZephyrWoods stuff is just so so so me. Would be SUPER excited to win…

  5. I wasn’t expecting this one myself, but Lakeside Fibers (off Park Street) is a great place to buy unique hand-knits. The women who own the store will sell the sample sweaters, hats, scarves, etc. if a yarn or pattern has been discontinued. I just bought a lovingly hand-made baby sweater and matching hat at their last sample sale.

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention Madison Loves Etsy « Raising Madison -- Topsy.com

  7. Pingback: Great gifts from local Etsy stores! « Raising Madison

  8. Pingback: Madison Made « Raising Madison

Leave a Reply

